Break My Soul

Beyoncé's 'Renaissance' Album Cover

Beyoncé Ushers in New Era of Music
With 'Break My Soul'

by Jacquari Harris
| July 15, 2022 10:29 pm CDT

Beyoncé is kicking off a brand-new era of music with the release of her uptempo dance record, “Break My Soul.” The single is from her upcoming seventh album, Renaissance, which is slated for release on July 29. 

Beyoncé's Renaissance Album Cover


“Break My Soul” was released on June 20, and the song has already reached the Top 10 of Billboard’s Hot 100 chart, currently at No. 9. The song is storming other charts, including the Hot Dance/Electronic Songs chart, with the single sitting pretty in the No. 1 spot. 


“Break My Soul” is inspired by 1990s house music, with celebrities, the Beyhive, and house music lovers alike using the song for their Instagram Reels and TikTok clips. The 28-time Grammy winner recently made her debut on TikTok by releasing a compilation clip of fans dancing and performing to her latest hit. 

Beyonce Break My Soul


Renaissance is the follow-up to Beyoncé’s critically acclaimed album, Lemonade, and the singer recently shared some thoughts about her new LP. 


“Creating this album allowed me a place to dream and to find escape during a scary time for the world,” said the singer. “It allowed me to feel free and adventurous in a time when little else was moving. My intention was to create a safe place, a place without judgment. A place to be free of perfectionism and overthinking. A place to scream, release, feel freedom. It was a beautiful journey of exploration. I hope you find joy in this music. I hope it inspires you to release the wiggle. Ha! And to feel as unique, strong, and sexy as you are.”

Update: Below is the 16-song set from the album, which was released to Bey’s Instagram Stories on Wednesday (July 20).

1. I’m That Girl
2. Cozy
3. Alien Superstar
4. Cuff It
5. Energy
6. Break My Soul
7. Church Girl
8. Plastic Off The Sofa
9. Virgo’s Groove
10. Move
11. Heated
12. Thique
13. All Up In Your Mind
14. America Has a Problem
15. Pure Money
16. Summer Renaissance

Subscribe to JMG for the latest in entertainment news, music, and more here.

Watch the “Break My Soul” lyric video